Reviews

 

Photo of Morgan F.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Jersey City, NJ

4.0 star rating
10/28/2012

Brooklyn Bistro was a good find, it looks like a place that you would find in NYC lower east side a little old, but with a lots of charm and character.   I had the Bronzoni (sea bass), which I had at Tulio (Seattle) the month before and the fish here was just as good or even better and at half price.  My daughter had the gnocchi with the Bolognese sauce and loved it.   My wife had cavatelli with broccoli rabe and was also very good.  For dessert we had two types of cheesecake and were better than Junior's in Brooklyn.  I though the price for the quality of food and service was appropriate considering that you get to bring your own wine. Over all I was very impressed by the attention to the food and the great service that you find in a true family run place.  They even make their own pasta.

Photo of Matthew S.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Island Heights, NJ

4.0 star rating
10/22/2012

Our family of 20 , all Italians, dined for the first time Sunday, Oct. 21, 2012.The apps
were over the top,dinners were excellent as well as the deserts. Mom & son Vinny 
do all of the cooking from scratch,sister Maria & Sandy, Vinny' wife are they servers.
they made us feel like we were eating at home . Very affordable, soup to nuts for 20
people $ 640 excl. tax & tip
We will be back soon for another great dinner.
I will share our experience with my friends.
One of the best  kept secretes in Toms River.
Matt S. from Island Heights.

Photo of Lauren G.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Lakewood Township, NJ

1.0 star rating
9/29/2012

Really food should taste like something...ordered a chicken dish. The chicken was a piece of boiled chicken with boiled eggplant and a peice of cheese, with a watered down teaspoon of I think tomatoe sauce.  Please get a chef. All I can say is shame on u for charging those ridiculous prices for what we left saying tasted like nothing. When I leave Resturant I should leave orally satisfied by my food. Sorry but no no no..

Photo of Carole L.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Toms River, NJ

4.0 star rating
9/11/2012

This is our new favorite Italian restaurant in Toms River. Everything we've tried has been delicious. We are working our way through the menu. It is a family owned restaurant with an extremely knowledgeable wait staff. The owner/ chef, Vincenzo, prepares the food excellently. The waitresses are his wife and his sister. They are most accommodating.All in all a great dining experience. The one downside is its location. It is right on Rt. 9, opposite Church Road. Don't be put off by its surroundings. It is clean and pleasant inside. The map given in Yelp is confusing. Try this restaurant, you won't be disappointed.

Photo of Dawn T.
  • 1friend
  • 1review

Toms River, NJ

5.0 star rating
7/15/2012

Love this place!! Have eaten here many times and had a few special occasions here as well... Never disappointed...the owners are great people and make you feel at home. Food is awesome and great atmosphere. You can't go wrong with any of the food choices ...everything has been delicious! Def recommend this restaurant..it's a winner!

Photo of Lou L.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Toms River, NJ

3.0 star rating
6/22/2012

First time diners. Just OK. Brooklyn bread? Decent crust but spongy insides. Just OK. Prices high for an establishment like this. Broccoli rabbi appetizer just OK. Chicken Parm entree very good. Broccoli rabbi (yes, I like it) sausage, and bean entree just OK. Cheesecake very good. $80 tab for two with no booze bill not OK.

Photo of Arlene C.
  • 0friends
  • 2reviews

North Bergen, NJ

5.0 star rating
5/10/2012

This restaurant is closed on Tuesday's.
This is a hidden gem in a strip mall along rt 9.
The food is prepared fresh, the salmon in dill sauce was
Fabulous . We also had shrimp scampi with angel hair pasta,
And a chicken dish with sun dried tomato and prosecute over angel hair pasta.
Capreses salad with fresh mozzarella, was excellent.
The dinner comes with a green salad also.
You can't beat the prices .
It's a BYOB also..
In this area, it's so hard to get really GOOD Italian food.. Actually good food anywhere down here is impossible.. HOWEVER, the BROOKLYN BISTRO hits the nail on the head.
There menu is fantastic, and specials are awesome .
The service is great, our waitress was sandy the owners wife, who is from Brooklyn via Hudson county.
Try this place believe me you won't be sorry

Photo of Don L.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Toms River, NJ

5.0 star rating
Update - 2/25/2012

Best of the Best!!! Toms River finally has a class act restaurant.Don't let the facade fool you this place is the real deal!!!!

1 Previous Review: Show all »

  • 5.0 star rating
    2/10/2012

    Its about time we had some good Italian food in ocean county!!!
    The place is a little out of the way… Read more »

Photo of John S.
  • 1friend
  • 2reviews

Lakewood, NJ

5.0 star rating
2/10/2012

A real Brooklyn restaurant. They r from Brooklyn like the 4 of us. Everything was delish. Hope it lasts. This is our 2nd visit and the place was empty and it shouldn't be. All fresh and homemade. We will be regulars.  Reminds me of Arthur Ave in the Bronx.  The veal chops special was "special. How can you beat Brooklyn bread!

Photo of Danielle M.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Union City, NJ

5.0 star rating
2/4/2012

The food is so good! He makes great cheesecake (almond joy,oreo,and much much more) Everything is homemade. (mmmmmmmmmmmm) I love the food.I come all the  time. I am hoping to win the Valentine's raffle!!

Photo of Josephine R.
  • 0friends
  • 4reviews

Toms River, NJ

5.0 star rating
1/23/2012

The Brooklyn Bistro is this adorable little place at the end of Church Road and Route 9.  They have authentic Italian food that is unbelievably good.  We've been there a bunch of times and every time it's been great.  I've tried quite a few restaurants in the area but seem to come back to this one.  There is something about the quality of the food and the service that has me coming back.  It's worth a try if you haven't already been.  And if you go....try the Gnocchi Bolognese!

Forked River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 starsReviewed September 20, 2012
2
 
people found this review helpful

Dont judge a book by its cover! While looking at it from the outside, the biulding my not be so inviting, but once you have tasted the magic that comes from the kitchen, you will be returning again and again. The best bolognese sauce ever! Byob and enjoy. and iff you like cheesecake this is your place. Vince tries at least one new flavor ech week. 

 

Photo of Mary P.
  • 0friends
  • 2reviews

Toms River, NJ

5.0 star rating
5/6/2012

Great, authentic Italian food. BYOB

Was this review …?

Took my second trip to Brooklyn Bistro last night. Brought my in laws and youngest daughter to share this place with myself and my wife. Once again, food, service and atmosphere was awesome. Hope everyone checks this place out. Really love it there.
Like ·  · September 3 at 7:12pm
WONDERFUL Lunch today @ Brooklyn Bistro w/ Marie & Lenis! Service was great,food also! I'll certainly go there again! Escarole soup was SUPERB! THANK YOU! Broklyn Bistro!
Unlike ·  · August 16 at 3:55pm
Make a Free Website with Yola.